So,

As the title says, this is going to be a public soap box rant, fresh and hot off the press. I had a nice cooking adventure post that my ipad decided it was going to eat instead of posting, so the adventure in cooking must have been delicious. I may go through and re-type the blog eventually.

Anyway, to my public rant. -clears her throat- Ah-hem…

I have had it with first world problem-er, supremest, elitists in our society who think they are entitled to anything and everything. To me, they are half of everything that is wrong with this world today. Where does this random rant stem from? My job!

As I have mentioned before, my husband and I both work retail. He works full time with a mechanical retail chain, and I happen to work two different retails. I work the entertainment retail part time and then I also work a full-time retail chain that deals in ‘fine’ goods. From handbags to possibly hand grenades, we carry high fashion to the finest home goods. I am a work from home customer service rep. Yes, I have the joys of working in my PJ’s 🙂 However, I have to deal with people over the phone for 8 hours who, in about 87% of the cases could give a flying fluffy rabbits tail if you have a life or another job. No, they think you are there to cater to their every whim, and while in some cases I empathize with some of these people, in other cases, I don’t care. Really, I don’t. Oh.. You didn’t receive a $300 clutch in time for a wedding.. Oh no, your life is sooo  ruin! You didn’t receive that dress, your daughters graduation is ruined because you don’t have THAT dress! OH NO! The apocalypse is coming! Seriously? Are You kidding me? (meme)  Grow up! These are some of the things I get to hear from people. I literally had a woman, so angry – she hung up on me. Just -click-  It is crazy.  Sometimes, people are justified in their anger, and I sympathize, I really do! This whole process is run by humans, and frankly humans are naturally imperfect, and stuff happens. Everyone has a bad day, or does something wrong. Its life, and once again, IT HAPPENS!

My other point is: liars. I have the biggest pet peeve about people who lie. My company happens to run a lot of specials. The funny thing about these specials is they have a fine print, and its ALWAYS included. You can find it on the website, or in your email. It is always there. So, when I have someone say, “Well its not what my email says, ” and I can look at the email we sent, I just wish I could reach through the phone and smack someone. Seriously, lying isn’t going to make me bend the rules for you. If it was in my power to do something about it, i would help ya out. I don’t care, but in this case, its company policy, so quit trying to make me loose my job so you can save a few dollars!

Now, I’m all for saving a few dollars. Do not get me wrong! Good sale at Target, Walmart, anywhere!? – I’m totally there! However, the flip to this is, being nit picky about a couple dollars here and there when you just spent a couple thousand dollars on design handbags!? Seriously?
Once again, I just don’t get it. My only other beef is people trying to work the system. As I said before, two specials or discounts cannot be applied to the order, its just not how it works. Its all written in the fine print. Yesterday, I had a gentleman on the phone. His order had issues and he was a part of a special promotion running. Well in order to qualify for that promotion still he needed to replace the item that could not be fulfilled on his original order. We we happen to be running a special for items that he was looking at to replace his original item and he wanted to double dip. I had to repeat over and over and over to this ( i say this lightly, but he had to have been young ) KID that he could not have both, it was either one.. or the other.  And technically in a way he could still have both, if he didn’t want to qualify for the extra on the first promo, which would have been the overall better deal of the two!  I happened to have to work my part time job yesterday, and he ALMOST made me late. I had to quickly dress and run out the door to get to my second job. I was uber pissed and upset. I walked out of the house last night yelling, ranting and raving. My poor husband caught the brunt of it! I came home with chocolate 😀

Thankfully I have an awesome husband. Really I do and I am so thankful for him in my life. Today he brought me home breakfast from this little diner we normally go to on Saturdays with his family. He then proceeded to give me a much needed pep talk, as I was having a rough morning. Honestly, if it wasn’t for him, I might have just walked away from my job today.

I can honestly say, I have never had a job that I detested with every fiber of my being. On this job, I can say that I do. I don’t feel anything for it except disgust.  I do it, because frankly, it helps pay the bills. With the way society and the government is running, I have to do something. Part time work is becoming more and more scarce and the pay for most retail jobs is lessening because the companies don’t want to pay to provide healthcare to their workers. That is a story for another time perhaps. Either way, this world and country is slowly spiraling down and circling the drain. Some major and radical changes need to happen and the need to happen fast.

But that is all for tonight.

Until next time.

~Kerokda

 

